Board‎ > ‎

Board of Education Members


Board of Education
Front Row:  Joe Mott, Jim Gallatin, Robert Miller
Back Row:  Aaron Schuster, Zach Lewis, Rene' Friedel, David Raymond  


Board Member

Township

Term

email

Jim Gallatin, President

Helvetia

2013-2021

jgallatin@highlandcusd5.org

A resident of the Highland community since 1978, Gallatin is a graduate of SIU Edwardsville where he earned his Bachelor’s Degree in Elementary Education in 1975 and Master’s Degree in Educational Administration in 1985. His four children attended Highland Community Schools during his 31 year career as an elementary teacher, principal, and coach for the district. Gallatin enjoys music, golf, traveling, and referees volleyball in his spare time. He and his wife Suzanne reside in Highland. Gallatin was elected to the board of education in 2013.

Joe Mott,

Vice President

Saline

2014-2019

jmott@highlandcusd5.org


Rene’ Friedel

Saline

2005-2021

rfriedel@highlandcusd5.org

Originally from St. Louis, moved to Highland in 1995.  My husband and I raised our 3 children in Highland, all are graduates of Highland School District.  We also have 2 beautiful granddaughters, Charley and Rhyan.  I have been involved in our community since we moved here.  A member of St Paul Catholic Church.  I was a member of the Grantfork PTO for 6 years and then proceeded to be appointed to the board during a vacancy.  Have served the Board of Education for Highland School District for 14 years, entering my 15th year.  For the past 22 years I have spent my time raising my children as well as advocating for many different volunteer and not-for-profit organizations.  I enjoy time with our family and friends.  Love home and yard projects as well as spending time with my 2 Golden Retrievers.

Zach Lewis

Alhambra

2017-2021

zlewis@highlandcusd5.org

A resident of the Highland community since 1982.  Lewis attended Highland Community Schools, graduating from Highland High School in 1998.  After High School Lewis attended McKendree College (now McKendree University) where he earned a Bachelor's Degree in Business Administration.  Mr. Lewis also attended Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville, earning a Bachelor's Degree of Science in Engineering.  Lewis has lived in the Grantfork and now Alhambra areas for the past 10 years and his two children have attended those Highland Center Schools.  Lewis enjoys sports, traveling, boating, and attending his children's sporting activities.  Mr. Lewis was elected to the board of education in 2017.

Robert Miller

Helvetia

2015-2019

rmiller@highlandcusd5.org


David Raymond

Alhambra

2015-2019

draymond@highlandcusd5.org


Aaron Schuster

Saline

2017-2021

aschuster@highlandcusd5.org